Participants

Project Name:
Simulations and Games Learning Analytics and Data Mining Workshop

Organized by:
Bruce D. Homer, CUNY GC
Jan L. Plass, NYU
Ryan Baker, TC Columbia

Held April 4–5 at New York University, CREATE Lab

Agenda Participants | Breakout Group Task Description | Report [ TBA ]

Goals

The goal of the workshop is to convene researchers and practitioners in Learning Analytics and Educational Data Mining for educational simulations and games to discuss issues related to the collection and analysis of data generated during learning from these environments. The overall focus is to devise analysis methods for intensive data to enhance extensive data analysis (and  vice versa).

Simulations and Games Learning Analytics and Educational Data Mining Workshop

New York University – CREATE Lab

April 4-5, 2013

Bruce Homer (organizer)Associate Professor, Educational PsychologyGraduate Center, The City University of New Yorkbhomer@gc.cuny.eduhttp://brucehomer.ws.gc.cuny.edu
Jan L. Plass (organizer)Paulette Goddard Professor of Digital Media and Learning SciencesNew York Universityjan.plass@nyu.edu@janplasshttp://create.nyu.eduhttp://g4li.org
Ryan Baker (organizer)Julius and Rosa Sachs Distinguished LecturerColumbia University Teachers Collegebaker2@exchange.tc.columbia.edu
Suzy Letourneau (organizer)Post Doctoral ScholarNew York Universitysuzy.letourneau@gmail.com
Melissa Biles (organizer)Doctoral StudentNew York Universitymelissa.biles@nyu.edu
Rich BonneauNew York Universityrb133@nyu.edu
Jen CaseGraduate Center, The City University of New Yorkjenelily@gmail.com
Sayamindu DasguptaMIT Media Labsayamindu@media.mit.edu@sayaminduhttp://www.mit.edu/~sdg1/
Girlie DelacruzSenior ResearcherCRESST National Center for the Research on Standards and Student Testing and Student, UCLAgdelacruz@cse.ucla.edu
Howard Everson     Professor of Educational Psychology     Director, Center for Advanced Study in EducationGraduate Center, The City University of New YorHEverson@gc.cuny.edu
Martha HadleyMichael Cohen Research Group, New YorkMHadley@mcgrc.com
Chris HoadleyAssociate Professor and Co-Director of Educational Technology ProgramsNew York Universitytophe@nyu.edu
Katherine IsbisterAssociate Professor, jointly appointed between NYU-Poly Computer Science and NYU Tisch Game Centerkatherine.isbister@gmail.com
Walter KaczetowThe Graduate Center, CUNYWKaczetow@gc.cuny.edu
Deirdre KerrCRESST National Center for the Research on Standards and Student Testing and Student, UCLAde_kerr@hotmail.comhttp://www.linkedin.com/in/deirdrekerr
Charles KinzerTeachers College Columbia Universitykinzer@tc.columbia.edu
Detlev LeutnerProfessor of Instructional Psychology,Duisburg-Essen University, Essen, Germanydetlev.leutner@uni-due.de
Jaclyn OcumpaughPost Doctoral ScholarTC ColumbiaJocumpaugh@wpi.edu
Jenna OlsenUtah State University
Ken PerlinProfessor of Computer ScienceNew York Universityken.perlin@gmail.com
Ruth SchwartzNew York Universityruth.schwartz@nyu.edu
John StamperHuman-Computer Interaction InstituteCarnegie Mellon Universityjstamper@cs.cmu.eduhttp://dev.stamper.orghttp://pslcdatashop.org
Claudio SilvaProfessor of Computer Science and EngineeringNYU – POLYHead of DisciplinesNYU CUSPcsilva@nyu.eduhttp://bigdata.poly.edu/~csilvahttp://cusp.nyu.edu
Cathy TranUniversity of California, Irvinectran27@gmail.com@cathytranhttp://www.gse.uci.edu/person/tran_c/tran_c_bio.php
Matthew VenturaSenior Research ScientistCollege of EducationFlorida State Universitymventura@fsu.edu
Jay VerkuilenGraduate Center, The City University of New YorkJVerkuilen@gc.cuny.edu
Katherine YoshidaMichael Cohen Groupkyoshida@mcgrc.